Our Faculty

 

Faculty

Sandra Armstrong, PhD
Professor

612-625-6947
armst018@umn.edu

Research Area: Iron acquisition and iron-regulated gene expression in pathogenic bacteria

Full bio

Anthony Baughn, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-0460
abaughn@umn.edu

Research Area: Metabolic requirements for bacterial persistence

Full bio

Wade Bresnahan, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-5876
bresn013@umn.edu

Research Area: Molecular mechanisms of human cytomegalovirus replication and pathogenesis

Full bio

Dana Davis, PhD
Associate Professor

612-624-1912
dadavis@umn.edu

Research Area: C. albicans genetics and pathogenesis

Full bio

Gary Dunny, PhD
Professor

612-625-9930
dunny001@umn.edu

Research Area: Molecular biology of conjugative gene transfer in Gram-positive bacteria

Full bio

Ashley Haase, MD
Regents' Professor and Head

612-624-4442
haase001@umn.edu

Research Area: Molecular mechanisms of HIV pathogenesis

Full bio

Ryan Hunter, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-625-1402
rchunter@umn.edu

Research Area: Host-microbe interactions, microbial community dynamics

Full bio

Marc Jenkins, PhD
Regents and Distinguished McKnight University Professor

612-626-2715
jenki002@umn.edu

Research Area: CD4 T cell biology

Full bio

Ryan Langlois, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-625-3633
langlois@umn.edu

Research Area: Immunity to influenza virus infections

Full bio

David Masopust, PhD
Professor

612-625-4666
masopust@umn.edu

Research Area: T cell migration, differentiation, and memory development in response to infections

Full bio

Christian Mohr, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-625-7104
mohrx005@umn.edu

Research Area: Molecular pathogenesis of Burkholderia cepacia

Full bio

Kirsten Nielsen, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-4979
knielsen@umn.edu

Research Area: Central nervous system penetration by Cryptococcus neoformans

Full bio

Stephen Rice, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-4183
ricex019@umn.edu

Research Area: Herpes simplex virus gene expression

Full bio

Leslie Schiff, PhD
Professor

612-624-9933
schif002@umn.edu

Research Area: Virus-host cell interactions, viral protein structure-function

Full bio

Peter Southern, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-2141
south003@umn.edu

Research Area: Molecular basis of persistent virus infection and virus-induced disease

Full bio

Ingunn Stromnes, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-626-7771
ingunn@umn.edu

Research Area: Cancer immunology and immunotherapy; T cell engineering

Full bio

Anna Tischler, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-624-9685
tischler@umn.edu

Research Area: Mycobacterium tuberculosis Counter-immune Mechanisms

Full bio

Vaiva Vezys, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-4650
vvezys@umn.edu

Research Area: T cell responses in autoimmunity and chronic infections

Full bio

Adjunct Faculty

Paul Bohjanen, PhD
Professor

612-625-7679
bohja001@umn.edu

Research Area: T lymphocyte mRNA stability

Full bio

Daniel Bond, PhD
Professor

612-624-8619
dbond@umn.edu

Research Area: Environmental microbiology; bioenergy from microbes

Full bio

Jeffrey Gralnick, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-6496
gralnick@umn.edu

Research Area: Physiology of Shewanella; Geomicrobiology

Full bio

Louis Mansky, PhD
Professor

612-626-5525
mansky@umn.edu

Research Area: Cell and molecular biology of HIV and HTLV; HIV drug resistance; HTLV particle assembly and release; Evolution of emerging viruses

Full bio

Charles Muscoplat, PhD
Professor

612-624-5387
cmuscop@umn.edu

Research Area: Bringing several biotechnology and biopharmaceutical products to the market; new drug therapies for patients undergoing radiation therapy for head and neck cancer and for patients with Sjogrens Syndrome

Full bio

Michael Sadowsky, PhD
Professor

sadowsky@umn.edu

Research Area: Soil microbiology, biodegradation, rhizobium and bradyrhizobium-host interactions

Full bio

Emeritus Faculty

P. Patrick Cleary, PhD
Professor Emeritus

clear001@umn.edu

Research Area: The molecular basis for streptococcal disease

Full bio

Anthony Faras, PhD
Professor Emeritus

faras001@umn.edu

Research Area: Tumor viruses, oncogenesis, gene transfer

Full bio

Richard Hanson, PhD
Professor Emeritus

hanso061@umn.edu

Research Area: Ecology, biochemistry, and genetics of methylotropic bacteria

Full bio

Ronald Jemmerson, PhD
Professor Emeritus

jemme001@umn.edu

Research Area: B cell and antibody recognition of protein antigens; Apoptosis and the fate of intracellular autoantigens

Full bio

Russell Johnson, PhD
Professor Emeritus

johns014@umn.edu

Research Area: Molecular pathogenesis%3B Lyme disease and human granulocytic ehrlichiosis

Full bio

Peter Plagemann, PhD
Professor Emeritus

plage001@umn.edu

Research Area: Virology

Full bio

No Results